About me

Sophie W 2020

I am a friendly and adaptable person with a range of experiences and skills. I enjoy collaborating with individuals and communities of diverse backgrounds to identify shared issues and practical solutions.

I love to learn. After completing a Bachelor’s of Fine Arts, I shifted to the study of communication, earning an MA from Concordia University in Montreal and a PhD from the University of Calgary. More recently, I have taken a series of courses on accessibility issues and the AODA through Ryerson University, and I regularly participate in workshops, courses and professional development opportunities on varied topics. 

I am highly organized and easily able to adapt to new groups and environments. I am passionate about participatory and accessible processes and driven by a fundamental commitment to social inclusion and diversity.

I was born in Tiohtià: ke (Montréal) and I have recently returned to my hometown after having lived in Calgary, Ottawa, Toronto and West Africa (Accra and Niamey). I am thankful to the Kanien’keha:ka Nation, keeper of this land, for welcoming me on these unceded territories.

I am fortunate to participate in work at national, regional, provincial and local levels. These experiences allow me to explore much of the vast and beautiful country that is Canada, and to get to know and collaborate with wonderful people with unique stories and varied backgrounds. 

I am fascinated by language and fluently trilingual (English, French and Spanish). I am currently learning Anishinaabemowin (or trying to learn it), and pursuing a personal research and writing project on bilingualism in Canada. In my free time, I enjoy swimming, walking, camping, all the music in the world, and anything having to do with food.